

As part of the ACT Government's Open Government commitment, this document is a public summary of matters considered by Cabinet. It is not intended to be a detailed set of minutes and does not cover all matters considered by Cabinet. Among the matters not covered are materials considered in the formation of the ACT budget, commercial and industrial matters under negotiation as well as matters that would impact personal privacy, security and the ACT economy. Nothing in this document can be considered a waiver of the Government's executive privilege.

Committees of Cabinet

A meeting of the Urban Development Committee of Cabinet was held. Relevant officials joined with Ministers to discuss matters of development and planning significance.

Government Response to the Commissioner for Environment and Sustainability's (CSE')s Report on the investigation into the Government's tree management practices and the renewal of Canberra's Urban Forest

Cabinet agreed the Government's response to the Report on the Investigation into the Government's tree management practices and the renewal of Canberra's Urban Forest by the Commissioner for Sustainability and Environment. The Government's response can be found at: www.tams.act.gov.au/live/environment/treeprotection

Report No 3 to the ACT Legislative Assembly on the Effectiveness of amendments made to the Territory Records Act 2012 and standards either revised or issued under the Act, in response to the Review of the Operation of the Territory Records Act

Cabinet agreed the Government's Report to the Assembly on the *Effectiveness of amendments made to the Territory Records Act 2012 following the Review of the Operation of the Territory Records Act*. The Report focuses on recommendations made in relation to the management of digital records, exemption categories under the *Freedom of Information Act 1989*, and the custody of Territory archives. The Report can be found: <u>http://www.territoryrecords.act.gov.au/</u>

ACT Government Response to Report No.7 (November 2011) of the Standing Committee on Education, Training and Youth Affairs, Human Rights Commission Report into the ACT Youth Justice System – Implementation of Report Recommendations 4.3, 4.15, 4.16 and 15.1

Cabinet agreed the Government's response to the Standing Committee on Education, Training and Youth Affairs' Human Rights Commission Report into the ACT Youth Justice System – Implementation of Report Recommendations 4.3, 4.15, 4.16 and 15.1. The Government agreed all four recommendations, which enhance the watching and monitoring role performed by the Standing Committee on Education, Training and Youth Affairs with respect to implementing proposals for change in the ACT's youth justice system. The Government's response can be found at: <u>http://www.dhcs.act.gov.au/</u>

Workers Compensation (Terrorism) Amendment Bill 2012

Cabinet agreed to amend the *Workers Compensation Act 1951* to provide ongoing power for the Government to establish a terrorism cover temporary reinsurance fund without time based limitation on acts of terrorism to which it responds. The Explanatory Statement and Memorandum of Human Rights Compatibility can be found at: http://www.legislation.act.gov.au/b/db_44021

Crimes (Child Sex Offenders) Amendment Bill 2012

Cabinet agreed to introduce the Crimes (Child Sex Offenders) Amendment Bill 2012. The Bill strengthens the powers of the Courts and Police in dealing with known sex offenders and allows Courts to prohibit offenders from engaging in specific conduct if the registrable offender is posing a threat to the lives or sexual safety of children. An explanatory statement and other documentation can be found at <u>www.legislation.act.gov.au</u>.

Appointments

Cabinet agreed to endorse the following appointments:

Victims' Advisory Board

Part time member of the Victims' Advisory Board, subject to Standing Committee consultation.

Ministerial Advisory Council on Ageing

- Mr David Lawrance, as Chair, and Ms Viola Kalokerinos as Deputy Chair.
- Re-appointment of members Mr Adrian Roberts OAM and Ms Chin Wong.
- Appointment of Professor Kaarin Anstey, Ms Laurayne Bowler, Ms Nancy Edwards, Ms Brenda Newham, Mr Maurice Sexton, and Mr Ian Trewhella AM as new members.

Secretary to Cabinet