Australian of the Year Awards

The Australian of the Year Awards celebrate the contributions of those who achieve great things for the Australian community, advocate for change on important national issues or who are local heroes, significantly improving the lives of others in our community.

It only takes one nomination for someone to be in the running for the Awards. Play your part in recognising Canberrans doing remarkable work, helping others and making a difference.

Nominations are now open. To make a nomination visit: link

Citizen of the Year logo

2018 Senior Australian of the Year

Congratulations to the ACT’s Dr Graham Farquhar AO who is the 2018 Senior Australian of the Year.

From his long-term base at the Australian National University in Canberra, Dr Graham Farquhar is tackling some of the most profound challenges facing humanity and the environment by helping to solve the world’s food challenges.

Dr Farquhar has received a string of accolades during his distinguished career for his research examining how water efficient crops can protect food security in a changing climate. Importantly, he has worked to improve world food security by developing strains of wheat that can grow with less water.

In 2017, Dr Farquhar became the first Australian to win a Kyoto Prize – the most prestigious international award for fields not traditionally honoured with a Nobel Prize.

2018 ACT Australians of the Year

2018 ACT Australians of the Year Award
ACT Australian of the Year

Mark 'Dion' DevowExternal link

ACT Senior Australian of the Year

Dr Graham Farquhar AOExternal link

ACT Young Australian of the Year

Zack BryersExternal link

ACT Local Hero

Suzanne TunksExternal link