Canberrans celebrated at Inclusion Awards

Released 05/12/2019

Seeing Machines has received the Award for Excellence at the 2019 ACT Chief Minister’s Inclusion Awards this evening.

Seeing Machines is a global technology company headquartered in Canberra which monitors drivers to detect fatigue and distraction in order to prevent road accidents.  Seeing Machines has implemented a workforce development strategy to provide employment opportunities for neuro diverse and disadvantaged job seekers in the ACT.

The Chief Minister’s Inclusion Awards provide an annual acknowledgement of the outstanding achievements of businesses, organisations and individuals who have demonstrated their commitment to encourage, welcome and support people with disability in their workplace, business and community.

The record breaking 102 finalists across four award categories shows that so many Canberrans are demonstrating their commitment to welcome, encourage and support people with disability in our community.

Now in its sixteenth year the Chief Minister’s Inclusion Awards acknowledge the outstanding achievements of business, organisations and individuals who have demonstrated their commitment to inclusion.

The 2019 winners are:

2019 Award for Excellence - Seeing Machines

Emerging Young Leader - James O’Hehir 

Achievement in Inclusion - Yenn Purkis

Excellence in Making Inclusion Happen - Sharon Ding

Inclusion in Private Sector Employment Winner - Seeing Machines

Joint Winners - Inclusion in Public Sector Employment:

  • ACT State Emergency Service - Tuggeranong Unit
  • Questacon

Inclusion in Education and Training - Jake Naylor

Inclusion in Business Winner - ThinkPlace

Joint winners - Excellence in Innovation, Design and Access:

  • ACT Parks and Conservation Service
  • Technology for Ageing and Disability ACT

With a Commendation awarded to The Future is Inclusive podcast

Excellence in Inclusive Services and Disability Support - Belconnen Community Service with joint Commendations awarded to:

  • Inclusive Volunteering Program, Volunteering and Contact ACT
  • ACT Down Syndrome Association

Excellence in Volunteer Support - John Brookes

Excellence in Support Work - Joint winners

  • Anton Saadeh
  • Luke Ferguson

Joint winners - Lifetime Achievement in Supporting People with Disability:

  • Bob Sawyer
  • Jamelle Boettcher

Excellence in Championing Human Rights and Equality - Canberra Community Law
With joint Commendation awarded to:

  • Women With Disabilities ACT
  • Disability Justice Reference Group

- Statement ends -

Section: Andrew Barr, MLA | Media Releases

Media Contacts

Name Phone Mobile Email

Kaarin Dynon

(02) 6205 2974

0422 772 215

«ACT Government Media Releases | «Minister Media Releases