International CAPITheticAL design competition finalists announced

Released 18/05/2012

Students, professionals and teams from all over Australia and all over the world are among those entrants shortlisted for the chance to share in over $100,000 worth of prizes as part of the Centenary of Canberra CAPITheticAL competition.

The list of seven individual and thirteen team finalists includes entrants from six Australian states and territories as well as Scotland, the United Kingdom, Canada and the USA.

Dr Chris Bourke MLA (representing the ACT Chief Minister) announced the shortlist at an event held at the Museum of Australian Democracy, Old Parliament House tonight, and said he was pleased the Centenary of Canberra could provide the backdrop for such an exciting international design competition.

"In the lead up to the Centenary of Canberra celebrations in 2013, it's timely to consider the factors and influences that led to the creation of a new capital for a newly federated nation," Dr Bourke said.

"The international competition to design the new Australian capital was a bold move and had an unlikely winner in Chicago's Walter Burley Griffin and his wife and business partner, Marion Mahony Griffin.

"The design of Canberra is a remarkable achievement; but most people don't know about this story or the extraordinary couple who won the competition with their 'ideal city' concept and beautiful plans and drawings.

"I congratulate all those who entered on their efforts, which have helped honour the Griffins and share this story, and I especially congratulate the 20 finalists on their success so far.

"I very much look forward to the next stage of the competition and the exhibition early next year," Dr Bourke said.

Centenary of Canberra Creative Director Robyn Archer AO said the 'intelligent but playful' style of competition closely reflected the objectives of the broader Centenary program.

"I'm so pleased this competition has been such a success and attracted so many quality entries from so many different quarters," Ms Archer said.

"It's important for the Centenary celebration - and important to me as Creative Director - that 2013 is an opportunity for consideration of Canberra's past, present and future as, not only our home, our city and our community, but as the nation's capital.

"By providing the catalyst to revisit those discussions that took place around the original design competition 100 years ago, the CAPITheticAL goes a long way toward helping us achieve that objective.

"To our shortlisted entrants, I offer my warmest congratulations. For you, the hard work is just beginning, and I'm very much looking forward to seeing how your entries evolve from now until the final judging and exhibition in 2013," Ms Archer said.

The competition to design a hypothetical 21st century capital city attracted 1,200 expressions of interest and 114 entries from 24 countries.

The shortlist was decided by a jury panel consisting of some of Australia's most respected urban planning and design industry professionals, including Professor Barbara Norman from the University of Canberra (chair), City of Sydney Councillor John McInerney, Emeritus Professor Dr Catherin Bull AM, installation artist Callum Morton and architect Alastair Swayn.

Shortlisted entrants will now further develop their entries for an exhibition to be held at the Gallery of Australian Design from February 2013, with the ultimate winners to be announced on 12 March 2013.



· Dirk Bolt

· Gareth Cotter

· Philip Etchells

· Sarah Herbert

· John Kurko

· Douglas Muir

· Manasi Satbhai


· Brit Andresen and Mara Francis

· Australian Urban Design Research Centre

· Kate Dickinson and Annabel Koeck

· Team DRAFT

· Ecoscape Australia Pty Ltd

· Dr Paola Favaro

· Jones Sonter Architects

· MHBC consulting firm

· Masters of Urban Design and Development at the University of New South Wales

· Amruta Pandhe

· ParTri

· Daniel Spence

· Samson Tiew and Ms Beatrice Toh

- Statement ends -

Section: Dr Chris Bourke, MLA | Media Releases

«ACT Government Media Releases | «Minister Media Releases