Released 14/11/2013

Minister for Police and Emergency Services, Simon Corbell, today presented 47 ACT Emergency Services Agency staff and volunteers with the National Medal at a special ceremony at Old Parliament House.

"I congratulate all of today's recipients who have been rewarded for the years of dedicated service they have provided to the ACT community," Mr Corbell said.

"Today's 47 recipients represent a combined total of 1,085 years of service across all four services within the ACT Emergency Services Agency (ESA).

"Personnel with the ACT Ambulance Service, ACT Fire & Rescue, ACT Rural Fire Service and the ACT State Emergency Service all demonstrate an outstanding level of commitment around the clock in helping to keep Canberra safe.

"Today's National Medal ceremony is one way to officially thank and award all who regularly give their service to the community."

The National Medal was established on 14 February 1975 as one of the original elements of the distinctive Australian system of honours and awards. The Governor-General awards the National Medal, with nominations made by the Chief Officer of the nominee service. National Medals are presented for 15 years qualifying service, with Clasps also presented for each additional qualifying period of 10 years.

"As well as presenting the National Medal to paid staff within the ESA, I would also like to pay tribute to the many volunteers who have received the National Medal," Mr Corbell said.

"The commitment shown by volunteers never goes unnoticed and together with all members of ESA, they regularly assist the Canberra community in times of need."

During today's ceremony, the Minister presented 18 National Medals, 21 First Clasps, seven Second Clasps and one Third Clasp.

- Statement ends -

Section: Simon Corbell, MLA | Media Releases

Media Contacts

Name Phone Mobile Email

Carly Gange

026205 4259

John Gray

6205 9627

0434 665 665

Kathryn Conroy

6205 9854

0416 428 678

«ACT Government Media Releases | «Minister Media Releases