ACTSES celebrates 10 years of service

Released 01/07/2014

Minister for Police and Emergency Services, Simon Corbell, attended a special ceremony tonight to mark the ACT State Emergency Service (ACTSES) in serving the ACT community for 10 years.

"It gives me great pleasure to meet with the ACTSES volunteers and congratulate them for the professional way they assist the Canberra community," Mr Corbell said.

"During times of storm or flood, the ACTSES is always at the ready to respond.

"During last week's cold wintery blast, ACTSES volunteers attended to 54 calls for help from the Canberra community, attending to leaking roofs as well as fallen trees and branches."

From 1974 to 2004, the ACTSES was known as the ACT Emergency Service. Under this title the emergency service did not have any legislative authority. On 1 July, 2004, it became the ACTSES and responsibilities and authority were given to the service under the Emergency Services Act 2004.


"The last 10 years have seen the ACTSES grow from strength to strength, with currently 236 active volunteers," Mr Corbell said.

"One of the biggest operations that the ACTSES has undertaken was during the storm and wet weather event of late February and early March 2012, when the ACTSES received a total of 965 calls for help from the Canberra community during one week.

"Having a dedicated group of emergency service volunteers at the ready to respond any time of the day or night, every day of the year is appreciated and respected by all in the community and I would like to thank each and every one of them.

Tonight's anniversary celebration also recognised one ACTSES member for outstanding service with Peter McEncroe receiving the inaugural Tony Graham Leadership and Values Award.   

Commemorative medallions were presented to each of the ACTSES commanders from all seven units across the ACT, with the medallions also to be given to all current ACTSES volunteers.

- Statement ends -

Section: Simon Corbell, MLA | Media Releases

Media Contacts

Name Phone Mobile Email

Andrew Benson



John Gray

6205 9627

0434 665 665

Kathryn Conroy

6205 9854

0416 428 678

«ACT Government Media Releases | «Minister Media Releases