Time to celebrate Canberra’s multicultural champions

Released 12/10/2017

Nominations are now open for the ACT Government’s annual Multicultural Awards. These Awards are an opportunity to recognise and celebrate the diversity in our community and the benefits it brings.

I encourage Canberrans to get involved and nominate individuals or organisations with a track record of outstanding contributions in supporting cultural diversity and social harmony in Canberra.

There are eight award categories, covering organisations and individuals. Groups who support multicultural Canberra can be recognised through the Public Sector, Media, Education, Business Enterprise, and Community Organisation awards.

Individuals are recognised through the ACT Multicultural Advocate of the Year, Multicultural Young Person of the Year and Outstanding Volunteer of the Year awards.

Last year’s winners include:

  • Dean Sahu Kahn and Dr Willy Senanayake, Outstanding Volunteers of the Year;
  • Lisa Stephen, Community Organisation Award;
  • ACT Community Language Schools Association, Education Award; and
  • DR Print, Business Enterprise Award.

The awards will be judged by an independent selection panel comprising representatives from across the government, education, volunteering and community sectors.

Winners will be announced on 14 December 2017.

Nominations open today and will close on Wednesday 8 November 2017. Nomination forms can be accessed at: http://www.communityservices.act.gov.au/multicultural/multicultural_awards.

For more information contact the ACT Office of Multicultural Affairs phone 02 6205 3142, visit http://www.communityservices.act.gov.au/multicultural or email CommunityParticipation@act.gov.au

- Statement ends -

Section: Rachel Stephen-Smith, MLA | Media Releases

Media Contacts

Name Phone Mobile Email

Brenton Sloane

6205 7402

0431 252 698


«ACT Government Media Releases | «Minister Media Releases