ACT energy efficiency program makes low income households a priority

Released 21/12/2017 - Joint media release

A new partnership between ActewAGL and the ACT Government will help low income households reduce their energy consumption and save money on gas and electricity bills.

Today, Shane Rattenbury, Minister for Climate Change and Sustainability and Yvette Berry, Minister for Housing, announced a joint initiative to improve energy efficiency and lower energy bills in the ACT’s public housing sector.

“Low income households pay the highest proportion of their incomes on energy bills, but are least able to make improvements by investing in energy efficiency. This scheme helps to turn this around.”

“The biggest renewal of public housing in the ACT Government’s history is underway and will give modern efficient homes to thousands of tenants. Now this program will help our public housing tenants by replacing 200 old, inefficient heaters with better systems, including electric reverse-cycle air conditioners, that will reduce energy bills in winter and improve the comfort of homes during summer,” Ms Berry said.

Mr Rattenbury said that the new initiative builds on the ACT Government’s Energy Efficiency Improvement Scheme (EEIS), which already requires electricity retailers to provide energy saving equipment to households and businesses.

“The EEIS scheme has already helped more than 70,000 Canberra households and businesses reduce energy bills and emissions, including over 17,800 priority low income households,” said Mr Rattenbury.

“Under the EEIS, retailers need to ensure 20% of the savings occur in low income households, to help alleviate energy poverty caused by rising energy prices. We’ve expanded the categories of priority household to ensure that more low income households can access EEIS rebates.

“This week we also saw the first installation of a rooftop solar system under the ACT Government’s solar for low income households program,” Mr Rattenbury added.

For more information, visit

- Statement ends -

Section: Shane Rattenbury, MLA | Yvette Berry, MLA | Media Releases

Media Contacts

Name Phone Mobile Email

Mark Paviour

(02) 6205 2775

0466 521 634

Jarrah Aguera

(02) 6205 4115

0481 035 764

«ACT Government Media Releases | «Minister Media Releases