Arawang Primary School awarded with five-star Actsmart Schools accreditation

Released 03/08/2018

Minister for Climate Change and Sustainability, Shane Rattenbury, has today presented Arawang Primary School with five-star Actsmart Schools accreditation for their outstanding work in reducing their ecological footprint.

“Arawang Primary School should be incredibly proud that they have been able to achieve accreditation in all five key areas of the Actsmart Schools program,” Mr Rattenbury said.

“This is due to the impressive environmental actions these young Canberrans have taken, as well as the passion their teachers and staff have in highlighting sustainability across the curriculum.

“Arawang was able to demonstrate their on-going commitment to sustainability after being awarded their first Actsmart Schools accreditation in 2009.

“To achieve five-star accreditation under the Actsmart schools program, schools must demonstrate their commitment to improving their waste/recycling, energy efficiency, water usage, biodiversity/school grounds, and embed sustainability across the curriculum, which was the final accreditation Arawang was able to achieve this year.

“Students have been active participants in this behaviour change program. The school was able to introduce a number of initiatives over their journey including waste-free lunches, participation in Earth Hour, and being an annual participant in Clean up Australia Day.

“Students also took part in the Stephanie Alexander Kitchen Garden program which saw them grow plants which were then used in their cafĂ© kitchen.

“Arawang is the 17th school to achieve five-star accreditation with Actsmart Schools, making them an example other schools can look towards in their attitudes towards a sustainable future.”

- Statement ends -

Section: Shane Rattenbury, MLA | Media Releases

Media Contacts

Name Phone Mobile Email

Lisa Wills

(02) 6205 3897

«ACT Government Media Releases | «Minister Media Releases