Connectedness celebrated at this year’s Mental Health Awards

Released 30/10/2019

Mental Health Month in the ACT has been capped off with a string Mental Health Awards for people and organisations who have made a significant contribution to the understanding, promotion and support of people living with a mental health illness in the ACT.

Minister for Mental Health Shane Rattenbury congratulated the recipients of this year’s awards and acknowledged their professionalism and skills in such an important area.

“These awards are a symbol of the community’s appreciation for what the recipients have achieved for the general mental health and wellbeing of the Canberra community,” Minister Rattenbury said today.

Mental Health Community Coalition ACT’s Executive Officer Simon Viereck said the ACT Mental Health Month Awards are a positive way to recognise and thank those in the ACT that are working to improve the experience of people living with mental health issues in the community and in their interactions with services.

“Every year I am inspired by the lengths people go to support and assist people with lived experience in the community. It is encouraging to see the quality of nominations we receive year on year. All the nominees are exceptional and should be celebrated regardless of who receives an award on the day,” Mr Viereck said.

The winners for this year’s Mental Health Awards are:

  • The Australian Kookaburra Kids Foundation, ACT Branch for the Mentally Healthy Communities and Workplaces Organisation Award;
  • Elise Apolloni for the Mentally Health Communities and Workplaces Individual Award;
  • The Way Back Support Service, Woden Community Service and The Connected Program for the Support for Individuals, Families and Carers Organisation Award;
  • Jenny Adams for the Support for Individuals, Families and Carers Individual Award;
  • Jan Jolly for the System Capacity and Workforce Award;
  • The Centre for Mental Health Research at The Australian National University for the Research, Evaluation and Quality Improvement Award;
  • Katrina Bracher for the Lived Experience Ally Recognition Award, for their collaborative work with consumers;
  • Tianne Casey for The David Perrin Award, for mental health consumer living independently; and

Natalee Thomas, Terri Warner, Joanne Hargense and Bianca Rossetti for The Michael Firestone Memorial Scholarship, for furthering their education and self-development opportunities as a mental health consumer.

- Statement ends -

Section: Shane Rattenbury, MLA | Media Releases

Media Contacts

Name Phone Mobile Email

Lisa Wills

(02) 6205 3897

0481 035 764

«ACT Government Media Releases | «Minister Media Releases