ACT Government welcomes new members to LGBTIQ Ministerial Advisory Council

Released 29/07/2016

The ACT Government has welcomed nine new members to the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex and Queer (LGBTIQ) Ministerial Advisory Council.

The Advisory Council has a key role in maintaining Canberra’s reputation as Australia’s friendliest city for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and queer people.

The new members were selected for their expertise and experience in issues faced by the LGBTIQ community and their networks within the community.They are passionate individuals with experience in a wide range of LGBTIQ groups across Canberra and who demonstrate a sound knowledge of the interests and concerns of those in the LGBTIQ community.

The Advisory Council brings together a diverse range of skills, experience and expertise to assist the Government to continue to develop and implement policies that are relevant to LGBTIQ persons and the broader community.

The Council has a strong focus on issues such as discrimination, aged care, education, sport and tourism and reports to Government through the Minister for Community Services.

I look forward to continuing to work with the Council. It provides valuable practical and strategic advice to the ACT Government to support the LGBTIQ community, improve the lives of people who identify as LGBTIQ and promote an inclusive Canberra.

The Council, to be chaired by Anne-Marie Delahunt, includes new members Tushara Wickramariyaratne, Isabel Mudford, Scott Clouder, Wayne Herbert, Simon Copland, Joseph Ishow, Ali Khan, Suzanne Eastwood and Christine Healy.  Harley Dennett, Lynne O’Brien and Katherine Reed continue as members of the Board.

- Statement ends -

Section: Yvette Berry, MLA | Media Releases

Media Contacts

Name Phone Mobile Email

Kaarin Dynon

6205 2775

0422 772 215

«ACT Government Media Releases | «Minister Media Releases