2019 CBR Sport Awards finalists announced

Released 30/10/2019

Today I announced the finalists for the CBR Sport Awards that recognise outstanding individual and team sporting performances throughout the year.

The finalists are represented across 14 different sports and demonstrate a great passion and drive for their sport. More importantly, the finalists have contributed significantly to Canberra’s local sporting community and make a great impact, not just in Canberra, but nationally and internationally.

Each year, winners receive a unique handmade trophy made at the Canberra Glassworks by local glassmaker Annette Blair. Recognising that 2019 is the United Nations International Year of Indigenous Languages, the trophies will now include a recognition of Country in Ngunnawal language.

The winners in each category will be announced at the Gala event held at the National Arboretum on 29 November 2019 and I would like to congratulate all finalists for their remarkable achievements. The finalists are:

Team of the Year

  • ACT Brumbies
  • Canberra Capitals
  • Canberra Raiders

Athlete of the Year – Women’s Sport

  • Kelsey-Lee Barber (Athletics)
  • Rebecca McConnell (Cross Country Mountain Bike)
  • Laura Peel (Snowsports)

Athlete of the Year – Men’s Sport

  • Christian Lealiifano (Rugby Union)
  • Nathan Lyon (Cricket)
  • Josh Papalii  (Rugby League)

Athlete of the Year – Para Sport

  • Annabelle Lindsay (Basketball)
  • Kathryn Ross (Rowing)
  • Emily Tapp (Triathlon)

Rising Star

  • Kye A’Hern (Downhill Mountain Bike)
  • Isabelle Bourne (Basketball)
  • Zoe Cuthbert (Cross Country Mountain Bike)
  • Karly Roestbakken (Football)
  • Nicholas Taylor (Water Polo)

Outstanding Service to Sport

  • David Bagnall (Rowing)
  • Peter Boden (Athletics)
  • Brian Golledge (Football)
  • Marie Hart (Cricket)
  • John Skene (Swimming)

Tickets to the CBR Sport Awards Night can be purchased from the event website at cbrsportawards.com.au/awards-night/book-tickets/

Quote attributable to Robyne Houston, Winner of 2018 Outstanding Service to Sport Award:

“I was very surprised to receive an email advising that I was one of three finalists for the 2018 Outstanding Service to Sport Award as I was not aware I had been nominated for this Award. To be nominated and then be a finalist was overwhelming. To be chosen as the winner of this Award over a number of equally deserving nominees was a huge honour, especially as it was in recognition of something I have loved doing over many years and that is to be involved at all levels of netball.”

- Statement ends -

Section: Yvette Berry, MLA | Media Releases

Media Contacts

Name Phone Mobile Email

Megan Cursley

(02) 6207 1653

0435 960 505


«ACT Government Media Releases | «Minister Media Releases