Intergovernmental Relations

The ACT Government participates in a range of intergovernmental forums, to present the ACT's point of view in discussions with the Australian Government, the States and Northern Territory. CMTEDD – Strategic Policy, Intergovernmental Relations manages the ACT Government’s interface with the various forums, which include:

Council of Australian Governments (COAG)

COAG is the peak intergovernmental forum in Australia, comprising the Prime Minister, State Premiers, Territory Chief Ministers and the President of the Australian Local Government Association. The ACT participates as a full member of COAG. The role of COAG is to initiate, develop and monitor the implementation of policy reforms that are of national significance and which require co-operative action by Australian governments.

A series of intergovernmental agreements are negotiated through COAG and are detailed on the Federal Financial Relations website.

Council for the Australian Federation (CAF)

CAF was formed in October 2006 to support and enhance Australia's federal system by providing an intergovernmental forum for State and Territory leaders in Australia. Membership comprises all State Premiers and Territory Chief Ministers, and chairing CAF rotates between jurisdictions.

Standing Committee on Treaties (SCOT)

The Australian Government negotiates a broad range of international treaties with other countries.  Treaties cover a broad range of matters from free trade to human rights, social security arrangements and the environment. The network established by SCOT allows jurisdictions to consider new treaties proposed for ratification by the Australian Parliament, and co-ordinates reporting on treaties to which Australia is already a party.

Cross Jurisdictional Review Forum (CJRF)

CJRF was established by COAG to monitor the operation of the mutual recognition schemes and respond to, and implement, where agreed, findings from the Australian Productivity Commission’s five-yearly reviews.  It looks into mutual recognition of occupations, and mutual recognition of goods.

ACT - NT Strategic Cooperation Agreement

The Chief Ministers of Australia's two Territories, Andrew Barr MLA and the Hon Michael Gunner MLA signed the ACT-NT Strategic Collaboration Agreement in Canberra on 8 February 2018.

The agreement further strengthens the ACT's relationship with the NT and will give both jurisdictions scope to promote mutual interests and take collaborative action for our communities.

The principles that guide joint cooperation under this Agreement are:

  • equitable economic, social and cultural development;
  • a dynamic outlook and strong cooperation to advance mutual interests as self-governing territories of the Australian Federation;
  • sustainability, environmental protection and the advancement of our unique artistic heritage and cultural context;
  • a focus on working together to share innovative and disruptive approaches in the design and delivery of government services; and
  • transparency, accountability and maximising benefit for our citizens.

There are many opportunities to share expertise and knowledge, particularly on initiatives that support economic development and sustainable growth including innovation, renewable energy and digital technologies.

There are also increased opportunities to advance our activity in space-related sectors, under the trilateral Memorandum of Understanding between the ACT, NT and South Australia. The two governments will also work to develop joint approaches to matters that are influenced by our territory status.

Note: The above document is a scanned signed copy of the agreement and does not meet accessibility.  We are currently in the process of preparing an accessible web version.  Please contact us if you require any assistance.