The City Renewal Authority announces changes to its Board

Released 22/06/2020

The City Renewal Authority will soon have a new Chair, Deputy Chair and member after the decision by Dr Michael Easson AM, to step down from the Board after his current term ends this month.

Appointed on 1 July 2017, Dr Easson was the inaugural Chair and has overseen the establishment of the City Renewal Authority and its early successes in creating an even better city centre for the people of Canberra.

Deputy Chair Christine Covington will be the new Chair and Nigel Chamier AM has been appointed to the role of Deputy Chair.

Following an extensive national recruitment, experienced director, chair and executive, Alison Kimber, has been selected to fill the vacated position on the Board.

City Renewal Authority CEO, Mr Malcolm Snow said that Dr Easson made an outstanding contribution to the establishment of the Authority and to the renewal of the city precinct over the past three years.

“As Chair he has guided the Authority through a number of significant projects and milestones including the creation of a comprehensive City Precinct Renewal Program, the opening of Henry Rolland Park, public space upgrades to London Circuit and Akuna Street, and the implementation of placemaking programs for Dickson, Braddon and Haig Park,” Mr Snow said.

“My team and I are looking forward to working with Ms Covington to continue the Authority’s work in making our city’s central places more attractive, accessible, enjoyable and successful.”

Ms Covington, the Authority’s inaugural Deputy Chair, is a solicitor of the Supreme Court of NSW with more than 34 years’ experience in property, planning and environmental law.  She is the Sydney Partner in Charge at law firm, Corrs Chambers Westgarth, a former board member of the firm and a foundation member of its Diversity Council.  Former Board roles include as Chair of affordable housing provider, City West Housing Pty Limited, Board member of the NSW Environment Protection Authority and Board member of the Barangaroo Delivery Authority.

“We are extremely fortunate to have such a talented and dedicated Board. Being able to maintain a consistent Board membership has been of great benefit to the Authority’s work in its formative years,” Mr Snow said.

Incoming Deputy Chair Nigel Chamier AM is an inaugural member of the City Renewal Authority Board. Following a highly successful career with international property firm JLL, he sits on a range of public and private sector boards, including the Menzies Heath Institute of Queensland and Oxley Creek Transformation Pty Ltd.

The appointment of Alison Kimber to the Board now brings a new voice to table.

Ms Kimber has expertise in strategy, governance, risk management, facilitation and change leadership, and more than 30 years’ experience in the finance, government and not-for-profit sectors where she has successfully led major reforms.

She has a background in international banking and capital markets, which helped develop a strong business and commercial acumen, as well as considerable experience in government policy development and the national regulatory system for community housing.

“I welcome Ms Kimber to the City Renewal Authority Board and look forward to working with her on the continued renewal and revitalisation of our city centre,” Mr Snow said.

Existing board members Ken Maher AO and Gabrielle Trainor AO have also had their appointments extended for a further term.

For more information visit

- Statement ends -

Section: | Media Releases

«ACT Government Media Releases | «Directorate Media Releases