Leaders in environment recognised at 2019 ACT Landcare Awards

Released 29/11/2019

The ACT Landcare Awards is a biennial event that celebrates our local Landcare heroes and their commitment to protecting and enhancing our local environment.

The awards put a spotlight on the immense talent in the ACT Landcare community and celebrate locals that champion environmental protection, conservation, and implement sustainable agricultural practices.

Two local farming families were recognised for their efforts combining agricultural production with nature conservation. John Lilleyman was awarded the Australian Government Innovation in Agriculture Land Management Award for transforming “Amberly” farm with a network of water pipes to better use the pastures for free range chickens for eggs, as well as beef cattle production.

Mathew and Sharon Gregory received the Australian Government Landcare Farming Award in recognition of their work along the Naas River restoring riparian areas on "Willow Vale" by removing woody weeds, planting habitat trees and using grazing management.

Volunteer achievements were highlighted with MacGregor Landcare Group Convener Lyn Jenkins winning the Landcare Hero Local Award for extensive service as a Landcare volunteer.

ACT Government’s Parkcare volunteer program also received accolades for its 30-years of supporting volunteers across our parks, reserves and river corridors.

Other winners included ACT Government facilitator Jackson Taylor-Grant, volunteer Aboriginal student leader Dhani Gilbert and the web-based plant and animal identifier Canberra Nature Map.

The winners from of the 2019 ACT Landcare awards will go on to represent the ACT in the National Landcare Awards in 2020 at Darling Harbour in Sydney.

The 2019 ACT Landcare Awards were run by Landcare ACT with support from Landcare Australia and the ACT Government as well as commercial sponsors and the Australian Government.

See all winners of the 2019 ACT Landcare awards at: www.landcareaustralia.org.au/landcareawards2019

- Statement ends -

Section: ACT Environment, Planning and Sustainable Development Directorate | Media Releases

Media Contacts

Name Phone Mobile Email

Blake Reeves

(02) 6207 0969

0401 766 218


«ACT Government Media Releases | «Directorate Media Releases