2018 ACT Book of the Year winner ‘Dancing Home’

Released 06/12/2018

(Joint media release Gordon Ramsay, MLA and Michael Pettersson, MLA)

The ACT Government has today announced the winner of the 2018 Book of the Year award at the ACT Writers Centre Awards event.

Michael Pettersson MLA said it was a privilege to represent Minister for Arts and Cultural Events, Gordon Ramsay at the annual event, which aims to promote ACT writers.

“I am very pleased to announce Paul Collis as the winner of the 2018 ACT Book of the Year for his novel Dancing Home,” Mr Pettersson said.

Dancing Home was chosen from 27 nominations across fiction, non-fiction and poetry. I would like to congratulate Paul for his novel, which the judges agreed ‘offered a story that captured the language and sense of country of indigenous characters with love and empathy.’

“I would also like to congratulate Merlinda Bobis for her book, Accidents of Composition, forbeing highly commended. The judges described her work as ‘a story told with affection and melancholy that seeks to grasp the breadth of humanity.’

“We are fortunate to receive so many high calibre entries for the Award which demonstrates the great quality of contemporary literary works by ACT authors and shines a light on the extraordinary talent we have here in our community.”

Other notable works included three shortlisted authors - Jackie French for Facing the Flame, Omar Musa for Millefiori, and Rachel Sanderson for The Space Between.

The ACT Book of the Year is awarded to local authors for excellence in literature. The winner receives $10,000, the highly commended author receives $2,000 and shortlisted authors receive $1,000.

Find out more about the ACT Book of the Year Awards at: www.arts.act.gov.au or see the full list of past and present ACT Book of the Year winners at: www.library.act.gov.au.

- Statement ends -

Section: Gordon Ramsay, MLA | Media Releases

Media Contacts

Name Phone Mobile Email

Anton Gallacher

(02) 6207 3795

0422 574 108


«ACT Government Media Releases | «Minister Media Releases