Canberra Citizen of the Year

ACT Honour Walk

The Canberra Citizen of the Year Award recognises citizens who have made a major contribution to the community. The award is significant - it recognises the efforts of individuals in the community and also helps to promote a sense of civic pride. The award was first introduced in 1989, continuing a tradition started by The Canberra Times some years prior to self government.

The Award is presented by the Chief Minister in March each year as part of Canberra's birthday celebrations.

2019 Canberra Citizens of the Year

University of Canberra Capitals and their supporters

Photo: The University of Canberra Capitals winning the 2018-19 WNBL Championship. Photo credit: 5 Foot Photography

In recognition of the exceptional teamwork and spirit displayed by the University of Canberra Capitals as well as their community of supporters who spurred them on to victory as the 2018-19 WNBL champions. This club’s efforts are an inspiration for all Canberrans, and the players are great role models for young people in our community.

Nominations for 2020 Award

Nominations for 2020 Canberra Citizen have now closed.

The Canberra Citizen of the Year can be an individual or a group who make an outstanding contribution to our community without expectation of remuneration or reward. They are motivated to act for the good of the community and are a participating member of the Canberra community.

They contribute to the advancement of Canberra and our community.

They make an outstanding contribution across any endeavour, including, but not limited to, the areas of education, business, health, charity, the arts, the environment, disability, youth, research, medicine or the media.

Strong regard will be given to a nominee's achievements in the year immediately prior to nomination, however ongoing and sustained contribution will also be considered highly. Past achievements should also be included in the nomination.

Nominees can be based in Canberra or the Canberra region, as long as the impact of their contribution is primarily within the ACT.

Nominations for 2021 can be made until Friday 18 December, nominate online or download a form:

Or download a nomination form [Word 28KB] and mail or email it to:

Protocol, Honours and Ceremonial Events Officer
Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate
GPO Box 158
Canberra ACT 2601

History and Previous Award Winners

Read more about the history of the award and the stories of previous recipients:


Protocol, Honours and Ceremonial Events Officer
Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate
Phone: 02 6205 3031