ACT Scientist of the Year Award

Scientist of the Year Award banner

The annual ACT Scientist of the Year Award recognises the achievements of an 'up and coming' scientist with significant potential to continue to achieve in their chosen field of research.

The award is accompanied by $30,000 prize money.

The objective of the award is to:

  • celebrate excellence in scientific research and innovation in the ACT through recognition of an 'ACT Scientist of the Year';
  • showcase the contribution that local scientists make to science and innovation, both nationally and worldwide;
  • enhance the ACT's reputation as a 'centre of excellence in research and innovation'; and
  • inspire young people to consider a career in science.

2017 ACT Scientist of the Year Award

Dr Kai Xun Chan was named the 2017 ACT Scientist of the Year by Chief Minister Andrew Barr MLA on 11 August 2017.

Dr Chan’s research looks at the effect of drought conditions on plants, and the ability of some plants to sense drought stress. His career breakthrough was the identification of a novel stress sensor protein that controls the pores on leaves of drought-stressed plants. His work is helping to find ways to improve drought tolerance in crops.

Previous recipients of the ACT Scientist of the Year Award

2016 - Dr Ceridwen Fraser, whose research looks at how plants and animals respond to past climate change, which has important implications for how we manage biodiversity and ecosystems now and into the future.

2015 – Dr Colin Jackson, whose work combines the disciplines of biology, physics and chemistry and is working to find solutions to real-world problems.

Contact us

For any queries please contact:

ACT Scientist of the Year Award Secretariat
Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate
ACT Government
Phone: (02) 13 22 81.