Supporting the education of preservice teachers

Released 16/11/2018

Today I announced 25 schools will participate in the University of Canberra Affiliated Schools Program—a key initiative of the Future of Education Strategy—following on from a successful trial of five schools across Canberra.

The ACT Government’s $4.5m investment over four years in this program, supports a key foundation of the Future of Education Strategy by further empowering teachers and school leaders to meet the learning needs of all students.

As research and experts have expressed, a respected and professional teaching workforce requires high quality initial teacher education that attracts the right kind of people to this field and leads to well-prepared and enthusiastic graduates entering the profession. After the personal factors related to students themselves, teachers are the single most significant factor in student achievement.

The Affiliated Schools Program will enhance preservice teacher education through school-based clinics and professional experience placements to ensure graduates are well equipped to enter the workforce.

The program also benefits the existing workforce by supporting collaboration with preservice teachers and university academics as well as sharing research through professional learning, resources and evidence-based programs.

By building better links with the University of Canberra (UC)—where many of our teachers gain their initial and post graduate qualifications—we are increasing opportunities for professional learning through research collaboration as well as growing UC as a centre for excellence in teaching.

Professor Deep Saini, Vice Chancellor of University of Canberra said the program will allow the ACT to realise the vision of authentic, school-based teacher education, teacher professional development and research with well resourced, carefully selected schools.

“A formalised and collaborative partnership such as the UC Affiliated Schools Program focuses on future effectiveness and the relevance of education in a fast-developing Australian society.

It has been informed by international best practice, successful collaborative programs in the past, and the contributions of a cohesive team within the University and its Faculty of Education; and from UC Lake Ginninderra and UC Kaleen High School.”

Initially 25 public schools will be involved in the program with more to be included in the second and third phase.


  • UC Senior Secondary College Lake Ginninderra
  • UC Kaleen High School
  • Kaleen Primary School
  • Maribyrnong Primary School
  • Giralang Primary School

Inner North

  • Lyneham High School
  • Campbell High School
  • Ainslie School
  • North Ainslie Primary School
  • Majura Primary School


  • Lake Tuggeranong College
  • Calwell High School
  • Bonython Primary School
  • Gordon Primary School
  • Monash Primary School

South Canberra

  • Narrabundah College
  • Stromlo High School
  • Melrose High School
  • Garran Primary School
  • Arawang Primary School


  • Amaroo School
  • Harrison School
  • Margaret Hendry School

Early Childhood

  • Southern Cross Early Childhood School
  • Isabella Plains Early Childhood School

- Statement ends -

Section: Yvette Berry, MLA | Media Releases

Media Contacts

Name Phone Mobile Email

Megan Cursley

(02) 6207 1653

0435 960 505

«ACT Government Media Releases | «Minister Media Releases