ACT’s top public educators celebrated

Released 31/10/2019

Tonight I presented the 2019 ACT Public Education Awards celebrating excellence in our schools. These awards recognise outstanding principals, teachers, leaders in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education, school support staff and volunteers.

The ACT Public Education Awards demonstrate the excellence in our 88 public schools. We have such creative, caring, respected, professional teachers and support staff across Canberra’s public schools and that was clearly reflected in the calibre of nominees for these awards.

I would like to congratulate all nominees and winners for the wonderful work they do each day in and for ACT public school students.

Teachers are the single most important factor influencing the educational outcomes of students, outside of their own personal lives.

ACT school students are consistently leading the nation in educational achievement and these outcomes are supported by the hard work of our school staff and communities.

It is important to take the time to celebrate the excellence across education system. ACT students are in very good hands with the teaching, leadership and support they receive from these outstanding educators.

The full list of categories and winners are:

Education Support Person of the Year
Vince Wood, Bonython Primary School

Volunteer of the Year
Carol Quashie-Williams, Farrer Primary School

New Educator of the Year
Francis Ventura, Calwell High School

Early Childhood and Primary Teacher of the Year
Karen Wilson, Bonython Primary School and Natalie Otten, Amaroo School

Secondary Teacher of the Year
Kylie Brown, Campbell High

Leadership in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education
Tikarra Looke, Kingsford Smith School

School Leader of the Year
Jackie Vaughan, Flexible Education

ESO School Support Person of the Year
Jo Wisdom, Transitions and Careers

- Statement ends -

Section: Yvette Berry, MLA | Media Releases

Media Contacts

Name Phone Mobile Email

Megan Cursley

(02) 6207 1653

0435 960 505

«ACT Government Media Releases | «Minister Media Releases